Tulip delivery

Today a beautiful bouquet of tulips was delivered to my work by a “potential suitor.” They weren’t sent because it was my birthday, Valentine’s Day, or any other celebratory day; they were just sent out of pure affection, to brighten my day. This made the sending of the tulips special in the first place.

While I was preparing the pink and purple bulbs for their vase, I followed the directions in cutting off 1 inch from each of the stems. As I was snipping them, I thought of how unfortunate it is that I have to remove part of the flower in order for it to grow straighter. It’s just like the Biblical principle of pruning.

“He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful.” John 15:2

dv030609.jpg

Just like the stems of the tulips, there are things in each of our lives that need to be cut back in order for us to grow. Sometimes it’s people. Sometimes it’s the number of movies we watch each week.

Whatever it is, let God prune you. His pruning sheers may hurt for a season, but you will never see the full fruit your life can produce until you are willing to face the “snip, snip!”

2 responses to “Tulip delivery

  1. Whoa! Linds! We got into an in depth discussion about this at my friend’s house last week…and it’s exactly the season that I am in. Yeah, it hurts for a season. It really does. But it is always worth it, that’s for sure.

    I love you! 🙂 And I’m adding you to my blogroll. Woohoo!

  2. p.s. Potential suitor?! We need to talk. =)

Leave a Reply

