Lost

On Thursday night, I got ridiculously lost. Whether you have a GPS, an internal compass or the world’s best map, I’m sure you’ve been lost at least once in your life.

I was on my way back from showing my friends Mark and Esther Kemah, a beautiful boardwalk near Houston covered in rides, games and restaurants, when I turned the wrong way. I know the way back to the highway from Kemah. I just turned the wrong direction, thinking I could figure out a new way on my own. We ended up going about 20 miles out of the way to get to the highway. Instead of just making a U-turn to go the way I actually knew, I tried to do things my own way.

It seems like that is the way life goes so often. If you are a Christian, God’s Spirit lives inside of you and tells you which way to go. Sometimes we make a mistake and God immediately tries to correct us and nudge us to turn around the right way. But too often we keep going stubbornly ahead our own way, and when we finally get back on track, we’ve lost time and energy, and maybe even sensitivity to His voice. We can only truly be directed by God when we stay connected to Him. Vincent Newfield worded this concept elegantly when he said:

“…stay connected and you’ll be directed. Passionately pursue oneness with the Father, and He will show you amazing things. Like Jesus, you will begin to instinctively know where to go, what to do, and how to do it.” (“Searching for Meaning?”, Enjoying Everyday Life July 2008

God, I turn the wrong way so often. But convict me in such a real way that I cannot continue walking away from You. Oh, that my ways were steadfast in obeying your decrees! Help me to not beat myself up when I make mistakes (because it happens all the time!), but to press on to know You better and become the woman You’re making me to be.

Leave a Reply

