The travel itch

Aargh. It’s scratching again. And this is an itch that no dose of Benadryl or Hydrocortisone cream can soothe. It’s the travel itch. It’s wanderlust.

After watching the video of this dude named Matt dancing in 69 places around the world, the itch is bothering me more than ever. This guy has traveled to more countries than most people can even name! Lucky dog.

But alas, I am thankful for the opportunities that God has given me to travel in the U.S. and abroad. I’ve been to four continents. I’ve lived on two. I’ve been to more than half of the 50 states. But when I haven’t traveled outside of the U.S. for more than a year, I start to feel the itch. More than a desire to travel, it is a desire to learn about other cultures, to observe their perspective of life. I get so trapped in my materialistic, “everything is happy and easygoing” American point of view and forget how incredibly blessed I am to have been born into such a life.

I want to jump in rain puddles with children in Philippine villages, to climb the ruins of castle walls in Budapest, to shop along the streets of Montreal, and to go places I’ve never been before as well… the Vatican, Le Louvre, the Taj Mahal, the Great Wall of China, Machu Pichu, the rolling countysides of Prince Edward Island, the Great Barrier Reef and Australia and Fiji…so many places, so little time!

I love living here and I know it is where I’m supposed to be here now. But if I could have any super power, it would be to travel at the speed of light to anywhere in the world like Jumper!

One response to “The travel itch

  1. we are feeling the same itch!!! Dude I want to leave the country so bad the last few weeks!!! Totally need a cultural shift for a couple weeks ya know!?!? You do know! 🙂
    Yeah… all those destinations you named… hehe 🙂 or just the Virgin Islands for a bit of R&R refocusing on what’s really important and enjoying life and people… simplicity, ah simplicity!
    😉
    love to you friend!

Leave a Reply

