Mirages

Sometimes it seems like we only get through one season of life by looking forward to the next season.

“I can’t wait to get married.”
(Once you’re married): “I can’t wait to have kids someday.”
(Once you have kids): “I can’t wait ’til the kids are out of the house!”

We live with an expectation that the next season will be better than our present, instead of fully enjoying where we are. We look for fulfillment in the future instead of realizing that Christ can completely satisfy us now.

I was listening to Joyce Meyer a couple weeks ago and she called these expectations “mirages.” We imagine our present circumstances to be the desert, and we think the next season will be like a pool of crystal clear water. But if we haven’t learned fulfillment in Christ by the time we reach the next season, we will realize that season is just more sand and heat!

I have tasted the fulfillment that I believe only a relationship with Jesus Christ can bring. This last Thursday at my church, we had a worship night for the college/20-somethings group. Through each song, I could feel God telling me He loves me; that even if no one else in the world understands me, He knows me more intimately than I even know myself. He loves me, and in that love, I find peace and joy to live each day.

In John 4, Jesus has a conversation with a woman at a well. She came to the well to fetch water to satisfy her physical need, and Jesus ended up calling her out. She had been living with several men in an attempt to quench her spiritual thirst. Instead of making her feel guilty about her sin, Jesus drew a profound parallel. “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drins the water I give him will never be thirsty again.” John 4:13-14

Jesus was telling her that the men and everything else in life she was running after were just mirages of satisfaction, but He was the Living Water, the One who would cause her to never thirst again.

Jesus offers us His Living Water daily. But we ignore Him down so often. It’s easier to turn to the things the rest of the world is turning to (relationships, shopping, alcohol, food, etc.) than to spend time with Christ. But when we do take time to seek Christ, we experience a deeper satisfaction than anything else this life offers.

One response to “Mirages

Leave a Reply

