Why I Don’t Like “Twilight”

Okay, I know that by writing this post, I risk being stoned by all teenage girls in America, or at least having a few “Twilight” books thrown at me in a violent ambush.

First, let me start off by saying that I have not yet read the best-selling book, which I understand (like all books-gone-movies) is quite different, and better in many aspects, than the movie.

And let me say what I DO like about the movie. The scenery is absolutely breath-taking. The scene where Edward tells Bella that they are like the lion and the lamb made me feel like I was in another world. I also loved the character development. I loved that Edward and Bella actually seem real and deep, and their characters leave you wanting to understand them better.

But here’s what I don’t like about the movie. Bella is willing to sacrifice everything for Edward. Here’s a young girl who is too young to even figure out what she wants to do with her life (be a doctor? be a writer?) and she’s willing to give up everything so she can become a vampire like Edward in order to spend eternity with him.

Now, I’m all for romance, but this is teaching young ladies a lesson that has already infiltrated our culture too much. It is NOT okay to give up everything for a guy. I know this book is fiction and I won’t even get into the whole vampire side of things; I just don’t like the message of surrendering your dreams and ambitions for a guy. That’s all of my soap box for now.

One response to “Why I Don’t Like “Twilight”

Leave a Reply

