Say No To Texting While Driving

Recently I was on a long road trip with someone (who shall remain nameless) who was texting repeatedly while driving. It wasn’t just a couple of quick text messages sent while at a stop light or while driving slowly. She was repeatedly on her phone, sending messages while driving on the highway about 80mph.
text
I know, I know, you’re probably thinking, “Judge not, Lindsay! Get that plank out of your own eye before you go after the speck in someone else’s eye!”

And you’re right. I have been guilty of texting while driving. But I normally do not text or do anything else that would distract me from focusing on the road when I have passengers in the car. The fact is that I value my passengers’ lives more than I value my own life alone. And it would be a sad, sad thing to risk my friends’ or families’ lives by sending a text message.

The movie “Seven Pounds” starring Will Smith really brings this message home. Spoiler alert: If you don’t want part of the movie ruined, stop reading now! Will Smith’s character, Ben Thomas, causes a terrible car accident that kills his fiancee and a few other people after texting while driving. He survives the accident, but makes it his mission in life to redeem himself for his mistake by saving other people’s lives through organ donations.

Some states, like California, have already outlawed texting while driving. But in the states where it is still legal, we need to make a decision to only text when stopped at stop lights. It is not worth running the risk of hitting someone in the few seconds that you are looking down to type of the message. It’s as dangerous as closing your eyes while driving during those few seconds! Don’t text while driving! It’s not worth it!

Leave a Reply

