Perspective Shift

I’m seated next to one of my favorite places in Houston — the long, rectangular-shaped pond at Hermann Park. A few minutes ago, I was seated on the west side of the pond, which is almost completely shaded by magnificent oak trees.

Hermann_Park_Texas

Since it’s nearly 4:30 in the afternoon, the sun is now shining down upon the east side of the pond. So while I was sitting on the west side, I couldn’t actually see into the pond. To me, it simply appeared to be an opaque, green mystery.

But after a few minutes of sitting in the shade of an oak tree, I decided that some Vitamin D and sunshine would do this pale skin some good. So I ventured to the east side of the pond, which is facing the slowly descending sun.

Here, the sun shines upon every part of the pond, revealing that the pond is not 10 feet deep as one might guess from the other side. Rather, it is only about 6-9 inches deep, filled with little rocks on the bottom.

From either vantage point, I am still looking at the same pond. But when I switched sides, I switched perspectives. I gained a totally new understanding of how deep the pond is.

Sometimes in life, we are so focused on what we can’t see — what is unclear in the future. We get frustrated because we can’t see how deep the water we’re about to tread into is. At those times, perhaps we just need to ask God for a perspective shift. He may not change our “pond,” or present circumstances, but He will give us a clearer view of our situation.

Even if your current waters are murky and deep, you can know that even “when you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you.” Isaiah 43:2

Be encouraged today through a perspective shift!

2 responses to “Perspective Shift

  1. Love it ! : )

  2. Great post! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

